Home Faculties Education
PDF Print E-mail

Faculty of Education

The Faculty of Education is mandated to train teachers for Secondary School Education.  As such it offers  four year Bachelor of Arts Education (BA. Ed.) and Bachelor of Science Education (BSc. Ed.) degree programmes.  It also offers a Bachelor of Arts/Teaching Studies, with emphasis on teaching methodologies.  On adhoc programmes the Faculty also offers a Certificate or Diploma in teaching methodologies in Science subjects.

The goal of the Faculty is "to prepare teachers and tutors with sound professional ethics and appropriate skills and attitudes for effecting competence-based learning in educational institutions".

The faculty has currently the following Departments:

Languages and Literature
Centre for Continuing Education
Education and Teaching Studies

Dean: Dr. Ignasio Jimu, PhD
Deputy Dean: Mr Joshua Kumwenda, BA (Ed), MA
Department of Education and Teaching Studies
Head: Ms. Febbie Chibambo, MEd
Department of Physics
Head: Dr. Semeon Gwayi, PhD
Department of Biological Sciences
Head: Mr. Michael Nkosi, BSC; MSc
Department of Chemistry
Head: Mr. Patrick Luntha, BSc; BSc(Hons); MSc
Department of Languages & Literature
Head: Mr Joshua Kumwenda, BA (Ed); MA
Department of Mathematics
Head: Mr. Paul Kubwalo, BSc (Ed); MSc
Department of Geography
Head: Dr Ignasio Jimu, PhD
Department of History
Head: Ms. Judith Mwandumba BA (Ed); MA
Department of Theology & Religious Studies
Head: Mr. Jonathan Nkhoma, BA; MA
Last Updated on Monday, 05 May 2014 12:41

Powered by Joomla!. Designed by: Tribeca Template  Valid XHTML and CSS.