The Faculty of Environmental Sciences.

Environmental degradation has been coined the third crisis after the economic crisis and the HIV/AIDS pandemic. The rationale behind establishing this faculty was a strategic decision by government to have a unique institution capable of producing high quality graduates in environmental sciences that would spearhead turning technological knowledge and experience into production, business operations and investments in the spheres of environmental sciences.
The goal of the Faculty is “to produce high quality graduates equipped with relevant scientific and technical knowledge, values and skills that would effectively contribute to sustainable management of natural resources and biodiversity conservation programmes for the improvement of human well-being”.

The Faculty has currently the following Departments:

Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences
Forestry and Environmental Management
Built Environment
Water and Sanitation
Geo Sciences

Faculty administration

The faculty is managed by the dean and deputy dean of faculty together with heads of departments.

Dean of Faculty

Mr Isaac Matidza (MSc)

Deputy Dean of Faculty

Mr Bob Israel Jere (MSc)

Built Environment, Land Surveying Exercise

Heads of Departments


Head, Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences

Dr. Elias Chirwa


Head, Department of Forestry and Environmental Management

Assoc. Prof. Jarret Mhango


Head, Department of Geo Sciences

Mr. James Kushe


Head, Department of Built Environment

Assoc. Prof Mtafu A Z Manda


Head, Department of Agri-Sciences

Dr. Frank Mnthambala


Head, Department of Water and Sanitation

Dr. Brighton Chunga